Day 4 – Frank Exchange of Views

Today’s prompt: Write a poem using a title from one of the spaceships’ names in the books by the Scottish sci-fi author Iain M Banks. Hmm… That’s a mouthful! And I’m not into sci-fi, but his spaceships do have amusing names: “Unfortunate Conflict of Interest”, “A Series of Unlikely Explanations”, “A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts”, “Frank Exchange of Views” – yes, that’s the one that seems to stand out to me. I think I have an idea forming in the mists of my mind…

Before I tackle that though, I would just like to say thank you to those of you who have liked and/or chosen to follow my blog. I must admit it’s really exciting to see that someone is interested in what you have to say – especially being a real newbie at this! So a great big “Thank you!” to you!

Frank Exchange of Views

by Angel Dawson

Mrs Miller stood at the fencepost

‘Neath her wide-brimmed summer hat,

With hands on hips and gossiping lips

She blurted “What do you think about that?”.

Mrs Patrick was rather astounded

By this frank exchange of views.

She was humbler, a bit of a mumbler,

When it came to expressing such news.

Mrs Miller studied her neighbour

With an all-seeing pair of eyes.

She had no shame, was a pro at the game

Of unveiling a small town’s thoughts and lies.

“Well? What do you say about that, dear?”

Mrs Miller pressed on in delight.

Each town enjoys tidbits but this was the limit

And Mrs Patrick gathered her might.

“These people you speak of so freely,”

Said she with her head held high,

“Whether saints or sinners are our friends and neighbors

Yet you judge them from sky-high.”

Mrs Miller looked somewhat gobsmacked,

For this was a first for her.

And that is the end, dear reader and friend,

Of the friendship on Hyacinth Road.

About One Day Closer To My Dream Life

Hi, I'm Angel, and I'm so glad you stopped by. Although Life took me down another road, since childhood I have loved writing and the power of language to evoke feelings and memories, to communicate with the hundreds of people we come into contact with and build relationships with along the way, and to impart ideas with. It's high time that I reunite with my old pleasure and passion, and start writing down all those words that are rushing around aimlessly in my head, jostling with each other to be heard. Sometimes we most fear doing what we love most in case it doesn't work out as we hope, but sometimes we just need to take that chance regardless! Who knows, maybe those words and plots and characters will take me on a journey that others will get to share with me, and lead me one step closer to living my dream life... I hope so!
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 4 – Frank Exchange of Views

  1. John says:

    A very intriguing frank exchange of views indeed. And what a name for a spaceship, along with the others….LOL! Well done!

  2. Thank you, it was a fun piece to write!

Leave a Reply

