Day 12 – Conversation Overload

Firstly, welcome again to my blog followers. Although I have been a bit slow in posting my poems onto my blog the past few days, I have been writing them in my notebook – just haven’t had a chance to post them here. I’ll add a couple now quickly and will try to add the rest tomorrow. I hope you enjoy my latest poetic musings!

Today’s prompt: I admit that I did not follow today’s prompt from the NaPoWriMo blog as, to be honest, it just did not grab me, no matter how hard I tried. The prompt was no. 33 from the attached list http://www.writing.upenn.edu/bernstein/experiments.html (a generally imaginative and amusing list, I thought) but I opted for no. 35. I don’t know about for you, but for me writing a poem consisting of overheard snippets of conversation seemed a whole lot more appealing than writing a poem telling someone things I would love to say to them but never would…

Conversation Overload

by Angel Dawson

“Oh my dear, did you hear…”

“I completely agree!”

“Well, she said in a year”

“That will be my full fee”

“At the circle, turn right”

“No, I did not say that!”

“Then he said we just fight.”

“She’s the sweetest wee cat!”

“Could you fetch me at five?”

“So then I shut the door,”

“She was covered in hives!”

“And I said, ‘Have some more'”

“Her voice was quite thrilling”

“What a fine thing to say!”

“And there it was, spilling!”

“So I called it a day.”

I imagined sitting in a park and just catching a snippet of each conversation of the people that passed by, whether they were talking together as they walked, or to someone on their cellphone. It was a fun exercise which I really enjoyed and I will probably try it again or add to and polish up this piece at a later stage. After my 30 day 30 poem challenge is over!

About One Day Closer To My Dream Life

Hi, I'm Angel, and I'm so glad you stopped by. Although Life took me down another road, since childhood I have loved writing and the power of language to evoke feelings and memories, to communicate with the hundreds of people we come into contact with and build relationships with along the way, and to impart ideas with. It's high time that I reunite with my old pleasure and passion, and start writing down all those words that are rushing around aimlessly in my head, jostling with each other to be heard. Sometimes we most fear doing what we love most in case it doesn't work out as we hope, but sometimes we just need to take that chance regardless! Who knows, maybe those words and plots and characters will take me on a journey that others will get to share with me, and lead me one step closer to living my dream life... I hope so!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

